Talib Kweli Dropped A Kanye-Infused Surprise Album

Ever since Beyoncé killed the Internet with her surprise album release nearly two years ago, artists have been shedding archaic release dates and pushing new music out with no warning—much to the dismay of music lovers with pacemakers and heart conditions. The latest example of the surprise album drops comes from the rap philosopher Talib Kweli, who just released Train of Thought: Lost Lyrics, Rare Releases & Beautiful B-Sides Vol. 1.

The album of never-before-heard songs feature rap and hip hop heavyweights like Common, Killer Mike, Consequence, Yasiin Bey (or the Artist Formerly Known as Mos Def), and Yeezus himself. Kanye West makes his presence felt with producer credits on three tracks and a verse on perfectly titled "Wack Niggaz" that’s absolutely fire. While the Milk Made office and the entire universe collectively panics in anticipation for SWISH, you can take a break from googling Kanye West and take some time to reintroduce yourself to the Brooklyn-born rapper known as Talib Kweli. Don’t worry, we’re here to help.

Born and raised in Park Slope, Kweli exploded onto the rap scene with a Mos Def collab album titled Mos Def and Talib Kweli Are Black Star. Between his decades of political activism fighting back against racial stereotyping, police brutality, and the Black Lives Matter movement and his twenty-year rap career that has produced classic albums like Train of Thought and Prisoner of Conscious, these B-Sides and rare releases are the perfect soundtrack to the hot sweaty summer day you’re spending perched in front of your AC unit.

You can find the full tracklist and purchase the album by visiting his #KweliClub website.

Images via WireImages

Related Stories

New Stories

Load More


Like Us On Facebook