RIP Sean Price + Mac Miller Releases New Song

The NYC rap world was hit hard when it was announced that Sean Price had died in his sleep last week. The 43 year old rapper, also known as Ruck, comprised half of the rap duo Heltah Skeltah and was a member of Boom Camp Clik, a 90s east coast rap collective. Before emblematic East Coast albums like Ready to Die, Illmatic, Enter the Wu-Tang (36 Chambers) dropped, BCC revitalized the NYC hip hop scene with Enta Da Stage, and the iconic track ‘Who Got Da Props?’

In honor of the rapper legend passing, Mac Miller has dropped a previously unreleased collab with him titled ‘Pet Sounds’. The jazzy horns provide the perfect contrast to Price’s clear and focused voice, staking his claim as King of New York saying, “Fuck the king of New York, in my presence they all peasants.’ It is unclear whether or not the track will be featured on Mac’s up and coming album GO:OD AM.

It’s no secret that Sean Price was hugely influential to hip hop, and his passing has been mourned all over Twitter, with Meres One even painting a mural in his honor in Crown Heights (the same mural used alongside Miller’s track). RIP Ruck, “From coast to coast he travelled the land/ Left footprints in grains of sand.”

Duck Down, Sean P’s long time record label, has created a crowdfunding to help his family with the bills. Donate here.

Related Stories

New Stories

Load More


Like Us On Facebook